Minister Congratulates Sa's Mental Health Champions

< BACK TO HEALTH starstarstarstarstar   Community - Health Press Release
11th October 2010, 09:04pm - Views: 967

Misc Miscellaneous Minister For Mental Health And Ageing 1 image


Minister for Mental Health and Ageing



Minister for Mental Health and Ageing Mark Butler today congratulated the winners

of the 7th annual Dr Margaret Tobin Awards.

The awards were presented in Adelaide and coincided with the start of Mental Health

Week in SA, which aims to raise awareness about mental illness and reduce the

stigma and discrimination associated with it.

“It’s very important that the government, the sector and the community work together

to reduce stigma associated with mental illness, which can act as a barrier for people

seeking help,” Mr Butler said.

“The individuals and organisations recognised today have all worked hard to support

and promote positive mental health in South Australia reducing that stigma and

decreasing discrimination in the community.

“I congratulate all of the winners today, as well as all of the entrants in this year’s

awards, who have all contributed to the health and well-being of South Australians.”

The Dr Margaret Tobin Awards were established in 2004 in recognition of the

contribution of the late Dr Tobin toward mental health reform in South Australia.


CATEGORY 1: Excellence in leadership and commitment to mental health

reform. Winner:  Ms Zhila Javidi

CATEGORY 2: Excellence in promoting an understanding of mental health in

the community. Winner: Carer Support The Mental Health Team


Excellence in the provision of services to people with a

mental illness who are most in need or most at risk. Winner: Helping Hand

Aged Care – Mental Health Team 

CATEGORY 4: Media Award – excellence in promoting positive mental health

by reporting mental illness and mental health in a balanced and respectful

way. Winner: The Guardian Messenger

Misc Miscellaneous Minister For Mental Health And Ageing 3 image

CATEGORY 5: Aboriginal Award –

excellence in the provision of mental

health services for those most in need or most at risk. Joint Winners: Jenny

Everett/Bobbi Sawyer

CATEGORY 6: Consumer/Carer/Volunteer Award. Winner: Dave Tapley

11 October 2010 


Samantha Regione 0418 112 688

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article